Protecting Your Family By Going Green

My journey to Go Green started when I noticed that my son was getting sick more often than he was healthy. We already had him tested for allergies and were well aware of his cat, dog, pollen and ragweed allergies. We had addressed those issues, placed allergy free pillows and pillow cases on his bed and yet he still suffered from unexplained headaches, sniffles, coughs and occasional sneezing.

What’s a parent to do? I scrubbed and disinfected my home, only to find that his symptoms had not lessened, they actually seemed to increase. Could my home be the culprit? Could I be sitting in a toxic quagmire and not even realize it?

The truth of the matter is yes and no, my home itself was no more toxic than my nieghbors home, than the local school, hospital or daycare. But something in my home was most definitely causing his chronic illness. So what was causing my son this level of physical distress?

After a process of elimination I started to read the labels on my everyday household cleaning products. WOW, have you ever taken a look at them? The brands you know and have probably used since childhood are chock full of chemicals. Your carpet cleaner, your window cleaner, your bathroom cleaner, your dishwashing detergent, your laundry detergent, your multi-surface cleaner. These chemicals can be affecting your health and the health of your family.

I found a way to convert my home into a chemical free haven and in the process found that we were actually helping the environment, along with our own health. This began the process of our home GOING GREEN. Besides the obvious change of removing all of the chemical based home products, we also switched to things like a water purifier instead of bottled water. We use bamboo fiber wash cloths and towels. We conserve energy by lowering the thermostat, taking shorter showers, and we are sure to RECYCLE every single item that we can.

By Going Green you can not only help the environment and future generations, you will be improving your own health and that of your families. Converting your home is easy with the right information. Visit my website and sign up for a free Go Green webinar to get the information you need to do a total home conversion. It’s the best gift you can give yourself and your family. http://www.gogreenwebcast.com/goodecruiser

About The Author
Sherry Goode is a business owner and mother of two children. She is passionate about environmental issues and believes that we all can and should convert our homes and go green to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

